2018 SAIP winners


Bienvenu and Nokwazi have received at the 2018 SAIP conference. Bienvenu has received a prize for the best PhD oral presentation and Nokwazi received a prize for the best PhD poster presentation.


Making the editors choice

Are Bessel beams resilient to aberrations and turbulence? Nokwasis’ work on this issue has been published in the Journal of the Optical Society of America (OSA), and has selected as an editors pick. Nokwazi’s response to this achievement was: “It is always a great feeling when the work we do gets recognition. It serves as affirmation that our work makes a difference in filling the knowledge gap in science. It is indeed a great honour.”

Bridging the digital divide

hendseigmanThe digital divide in Africa is the issue of a low population numbers having internet access (4%) despite having a huge share of the worlds population (20%). A team of international researches coordinated by Professor Andrew Forbes from the School of Physics and Professor Ling Cheng of the School of Electrical and Information Engineering set out to address this problem and published solutions in Nature Photonics. The team has spoken to Wits University and the Mail and Gaurdian, and the sory has been published in the july issue of EngineeringIT magazine. A short video can be found here.

Looking to the skies at HartRoa

hrWe recently visited HartRoa, just outside Johannesburg, SA where space geodesy and astrophysics are the topics of the day – everyday. Here, amongst many other exciting projects, they work with large telescopes to do radiometry, use satellite laser ranging to track satellites and feed into the databases that gives us accurate GPS.








‘Fractal lady’ wins top poster at Siegman School

hendseigmanHend Sroor won the best poster award at the recent OSA Siegman School for Lasers. Nicknamed ‘fractal lady’ after the winning research topic, Hend made it to the top amongst the ~100 students attending the conference from around the world and presenting their research in poster format.


Physicists Shooting the Breeze…

innovationbridgeAndrew was at the DST Innovation Bridge chatting to the Director General of the DST (Department of Science and Technology), Dr Phil Mjwara, and the Minister of Science, Naledi Pandor.

Established in 2015, the Innovation Bridge is an event aimed at encouraging and accelerating the use and commercialization of technologies and knowledge in publicly funded research and technology institutions.