Strategizing to the future!

stratergy2017We will be looking to the future amidst artwork and mind games with interesting talks on our current research and where we are planning to go with it. Exciting times ahead!











Physics Bowl triumph

saip2017The Wits team knocked the competition over at SAIP 2017 Physics Bowl this year with two from our group forming the “Bawsons” team. Armed with shower caps to keep their processors insulated and ‘blend in’ with the steam punk theme (or not), they dominated each round and finished with an inspiring top score.

Photograph: The happy ‘Bawsons’ receiving their hard-earned prizes from Dr. Herman Uys (Stellenbosch University) and a Bluestallion technologies representative. From left (in the shower caps): Stefan von Buddenbrock, Bienvenu Ndagano, Mitchell Cox and Harshna Jivan.

Taking home prizes at SAIP

saip2017Five of our students won prizes in the Photonics division at the 62nd annual South African Institute of Physics (SAIP) conference hosted at Stellenbosch University. Jason Webber (not in photograph) also won an award in the Condensed Matter and Materials division and received an honourable mention for his oral presentation in the Nuclear, Particle and Radiation Physics.
Photograph: Prize winners in the photonics division with Prof. A. Forbes (Photonics division chair), Prof. A. Muronga (SAIP president) and Dr. R. Lieberman (SPIE immediate past president). See Bienvenu Ndagano and Mitchell Cox at the centre of the back row as well as Hend Sroor, Bereneice Sephton and Isaac Nape in the front row.